November 21, 2011

Pop Century (Dining at Walt Disney World)

Posted in Disney World, Food Allergy, Restaurants, Traveling tagged , , , , at 9:00 am by 1ElleofaWoman

Mickey Waffles are available for breakfast all around Disney.

This year, prior to my family’s fourth annual trip to Walt Disney World, I got an idea from Dad. Not my dad, but Dad of Dad’s Guide to WDW. He asked for pictures of food/meals from Disney Parks so he could post them on his site. I thought that would be a good idea for my blog. Since I have already posted several times about Disney, I thought this year I would get more specific and give everyone a visual on what they can expect at Walt Disney World in Orlando, Fla. ****

Fruit is a snack option throughout Walt Disney World.

Fruit is a snack option throughout Walt Disney World.

Disney is the place where dreams come true and there are many reasons everyone likes Disney. Dad’s site has a lot of information about what makes Disney a magical vacation. What also makes it great for me and others dealing with food allergies is the relatively stress-free dining. The chefs are incredibly helpful and knowledgeable and they “get it.” The staff (aka cast members) around Disney World is very helpful as well. It’s not perfect; I do know one person who had an issue regarding cross-contamination at Disney, but overall my experience and the experiences of people who I know (in real life as well as online) are positive.

Pasta alfredo and chicken at the Pop Century

I only have to deal with a peanut allergy, so my experiences may be considerably different from someone with multiple allergens, but I would assume that you would experience the same helpfulness, consideration and care no matter what the allergy. At the table-service restaurants, the chef would come out to speak to us about our allergy friendly options. At all the counter-service restaurants and snack stands, the staff had access to binders with a complete listing of all the foods served and their ingredients.

Chicken and fries come with the choice of yogurt, grapes or carrots on the side.

Before I discuss the food at the parks, let’s start with the hotels.  This year we stayed at the Pop Century and its cafeteria-style dining was excellent. There were many choices available to DD. I can’t speak to everything on the menu, but most seemed to be peanut-free. She had the waffles, the breakfast platter and cereal for breakfast and chicken nuggets and fries for dinner on various days throughout the trip.

Divvies-brand snacks are one of the allergy friendly snack options at Disney.

All the restaurants at Disney have allergy friendly snack options, including fruit, a gluten-free brownie (I think it was also nut free, but I am not sure) and Divvies cookies, caramel corn and jellybeans. We were on the free dining plan and had some meals left over and the end of the trip.  We were able to get snacks in lieu of the meals and we choose Divvies items because they are not available in stores near us and we only order from Divvies periodically.

This chocolate cake had no peanuts.

Disney’s Pop Century Resort at Disney.go.

**** This details my experiences only. As always, read labels and ask questions; do not assume that your experience will be the same. Ingredients and manufacturing or cooking procedures may change.

3 Comments

  1. Caleb Burse said,

    What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It absolutely useful and it has aided me out loads. I hope to contribute & assist other users like its helped me. Good job.

  2. It’s a nice blog you have over here! It’s very usefull information for me and I just want to thank you for that! If you post more threads as this one, I’ll follow your blog active!

    • Thank you. I will be posting about various locations in Walt Disney World weekly through December and hope to schedule posts at least every other week in 2012.


Comments are closed.

